Jay Pantone

Assistant Professor
Marquette University

jay.pantone@marquette.edu


Math 1450

Spring 2021, Marquette University

Functions of one variable, limits, and continuity. The derivative and the definite integral with applications. Prereq: MATH 1101 or equiv. Equivalent is three to four years of college preparatory mathematics including topics listed in description of MATH 1101.

  • Lectures:
    M, W, F 9:00am - 9:50am
    Microsoft Teams
    Discussion Sections:
    Tu, Th Various times
  • Office Hours:
    Monday, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
    Microsoft Teams Tuesday, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
    and by appointment
  • Help Desk:
    Weekly Schedule
    Microsoft Teams

Course Information

The official syllabus is available here.

 
Exams

Textbook

Important Dates
Mon, Jan 25 Classes begin
Tues, Feb 2 Last day to add/drop classes or request CR/NC option
Tues, Feb 9 Mental Health Day, no classes
Wed, Mar 10 Mental Health Day, no classes
Mon, Mar 15 — Fri, Mar 19 Midterm exams
Fri, Apr 2 Good Friday, no classes
Tues, Apr 20 Mental Health Day, no classes
Fri, Apr 23 Last day to withdraw from classes
Wed, May 5 Mental Health Day, no classes
Fri, May 7 Last day of classes
Thurs, May 13
1:00pm - 3:00pm
Math 1450 final exam

Daily Calendar
# Date Topics Video Links and
Ungraded Textbook HW
Week 1
1 Mon, Jan 25 Syllabus
Tues, Jan 26 Discussion Sections
2 Wed, Jan 27 What is Calculus?
Section 1.1 - Functions and Change (started)
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) What is Calculus?
No suggested homework yet!
Thurs, Jan 28 Discussion Sections
3 Fri, Jan 29 Finish Section 1.1 (almost)
     Demos:
       » Example Function #1
       » Example Function #2
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) Section 1.1 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.1 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.1
# 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 35, 36, 42, 45, 55
Week 2
4 Mon, Feb 1 Finish Section 1.1
Section 1.2 - Exponential Functions (started)
     Demos:
       » Two Points Determine a Line
       » Population Growth
       » Exponential Growth
Lecture Recording

Sugg. HW: Section 1.1
# 5, 8, 17, 18, 19
No Sugg. HW for 1.2, see my email!
Tues, Feb 2 Discussion Sections
5 Wed, Feb 3 Practice Wiley Plus Assignment 0 Due
Wiley Plus Assignment 1 Due
Finish Section 1.2
       Demos:
       » Exponential Growth
       » Exponential Decay
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) Section 1.2 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.2 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.2
# 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 25, 27, 29, 36, 40, 42, 47, 59
Thurs, Feb 4 Quiz 1 (Sections 1.1 and 1.2)
Discussion Sections
6 Fri, Feb 5 Section 1.3 - New Functions From Old (started)
       Demos:
       » Vertical Shift
       » Horizontal Shift
       » Vertical Stretch
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) Section 1.3 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.3 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.3
# 1abcef, 2abcef, 4, 5, 8, 37, 38
Week 3
7 Mon, Feb 8 Continued Section 1.3 (almost done) Lecture Recording

Sugg. HW: Section 1.3
# 1d, 2d, 9, 10, 11, 19, 21, 24, 55
Tues, Feb 9 Mental Health Day — No discussion or office hours.
8 Wed, Feb 10 Wiley Plus Assignment 2 Due
Finished Section 1.3
Section 1.4 - Logarithmic Functions (started)
       Demos:
       » Logs are the inverses of exponentials
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) Section 1.4 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.4 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.3
# 27, 28, 33, 58, 59, 60, 61, 76
Thurs, Feb 11 Quiz 2 (covers Sugg. HW from lectures # 5, 6, 7)
Discussion Sections
9 Fri, Feb 12 Finished Section 1.4
Section 1.5 - Trigonometric Functions (started)
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) Section 1.5 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.5 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.4
# 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 10, 14, 15, 17, 22, 25, 27, 31, 35, 41, 45, 47, 61, 62, 72
Week 4
10 Mon, Feb 15 Finished Section 1.5
       Demos:
       » Points on a Circle
       » Sine
       » Cosine
       » Tangent
       » Sin/Cos Transformation
Lecture Recording

Sugg. HW: Section 1.5
# 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 15, 25, 26, 27, 47, 61, 89, 90
Tues, Feb 16 Discussion Sections
11 Wed, Feb 17 Wiley Plus Assignment 3 Due
Section 1.6 - Powers, Polynomials, and Rational Functions (started)
       Demos:
       » Powers vs. Exponentials
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 1.6 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 1.6 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.6
# 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12, 16, 17
Thurs, Feb 18 Quiz 3 (covers Sugg. HW from lectures # 8, 9, 10)
Discussion Sections
12 Fri, Feb 19 Finished Section 1.6
Section 1.7 - Introduciton to Limits and Continuity (started)
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 1.7 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 1.7 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.6
# 7, 18, 19, 22, 24, 25, 74, 75, 76, 80

Sugg. HW: Section 1.7
# 1, 2
Week 5
13 Mon, Feb 22 Asynchronous Lecture today. Watch the two Fall 2020 1.7 videos linked on Feb. 19. Sugg. HW: Section 1.7
# 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 23, 26, 28, 31, 32, 35, 40, 45, 59, 74, 75, 76
Tues, Feb 23 Discussion Sections
14 Wed, Feb 24 Wiley Plus Assignment 4 Due
Section 1.7 review.
Lecture Recording

No new suggested homework.
Thurs, Feb 25 Quiz 4 (covers Sugg. HW from lectures # 11, 12, 13)
Discussion Sections
15 Fri, Feb 26 Exam 1 (covers material from lectures # 1-13)
Week 6
16 Mon, Mar 1 Section 1.8 - Extending the Idea of a Limit Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 1.8 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 1.8 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.8
# 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13, 17, 27, 28, 31, 34, 43, 45, 47, 49, 57
Tues, Mar 2 Discussion Sections
17 Wed, Mar 3 Wiley Plus Assignment 5 Due
Section 1.9 - Further Limit Calculations Using Algebra
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 1.9 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 1.9 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 1.9
# 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 20, 21, 28, 30, 31, 32, 33
Thurs, Mar 4 Quiz 5
Discussion Sections
18 Fri, Mar 5 Section 2.1 - How Do We Measure Speed? Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 2.1 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.1 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 2.1
# 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, 16, 31, 33
Week 7
19 Mon, Mar 8 Visit from the Counseling Center
Finished 2.1
Section 2.2 - The Derivative of a Function at a Point (started)
       Demos:
       » Secant Line
       » Tangent Line
       » Sine Example
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 2.2 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.2 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 2.2
# 1, 2, 9, 10, 12, 19, 20, 23, 28, 29, 31, 45, 47, 49
Tues, Mar 9 Discussion Sections
Wed, Mar 10 Mental Health Day — No lecture or office hours.
Thurs, Mar 11 Quiz 6
Wiley Plus Assignment 6 Due (pushed to Thursday because of Wednesday's day off)
Discussion Sections
20 Fri, Mar 12 Finished 2.2
Section 2.3 - The Derivative Function (almost finished)
       Demos:
       » Exponential Example (part 1)
       » Exponential Example (part 2)
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 2.3 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.3 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 2.3
# 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 16, 17, 24, 29, 33, 35, 40, 44, 45, 46, 47, 51, 52, 53
Week 8
21 Mon, Mar 15 Finished Section 2.3
Section 2.5 - The Second Derivative (started)
(Note: We skipped Section 2.4.)
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 2.5 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.5 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 2.5
2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 19, 21, 23, 36, 39, 40
Tues, Mar 16 Discussion Sections
22 Wed, Mar 17 Wiley Plus Assignment 7 Due
Finished Section 2.5
Section 3.1 - Powers and Polynomials
       Demos:
       » Second Derivative example
       » Constant Multiple
       » Sum and Difference
(Note: We skipped Section 2.6. We may come back to it later.)
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 3.1 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.1 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 3.1
# 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 23, 25, 37, 59, 68, 69, 103
Thurs, Mar 18 Quiz 7
Discussion Sections
23 Fri, Mar 19 Finished Section 3.1
Section 3.2 - The Expoential Function
       Demos:
       » Exponential Derivative
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 3.2 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.2 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 3.1
# 26, 41, 63, 64
Week 9
24 Mon, Mar 22 Finished Section 3.2
Section 3.3 - The Product and Quotient Rules
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 3.3 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.3 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 3.2
# 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 17, 33, 35, 36, 37, 43, 45, 50, 51, 53
Tues, Mar 23 Discussion Sections
25 Wed, Mar 24 Wiley Plus Assignment 8 Due
Finished Section 3.3
Section 3.4 - The Chain Rule
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 3.4 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.4 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 3.3
# 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 21, 22, 23, 25, 26, 31, 33, 34, 35, 43, 44, 47, 49, 57, 59, 71
Thurs, Mar 25 Quiz 8
Discussion Sections
26 Fri, Mar 26 Finished Section 3.4 Lecture Recording

Sugg. HW: Section 3.4
# 5, 6, 9, 11, 13, 18, 19, 22, 29, 31, 35, 39, 44, 58, 59, 61, 67, 69, 73ab, 83, 93, 98
Week 10
27 Mon, Mar 29 Section 3.5 - The Trigonometric Functions
       Demos:
       » Derivative of sin
       » Derivative of tan
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 3.5 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.5 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 3.5
# 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 23, 39, 41, 45, 50, 51, 54, 55, 61, 71
Tues, Mar 30 Discussion Sections
28 Wed, Mar 31 Exam 2 — Sections 1.8 to 3.4
Wiley Plus Assignment 9 Due
Thurs, Apr 1 No Quiz
Discussion Sections
Fri, Apr 2 Good Friday — No lecture or office hours.
Week 11
29 Mon, Apr 5 Section 3.9 - Linear Approximations and the Derivative
       Demos:
       » zoom in #1
       » zoom in #2
       » sin linear approximation
       » exponential growth linear approximation
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 3.9 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.9 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 3.9
# 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12a, 13, 14, 18, 23, 31, 39
Tues, Apr 6 Discussion Sections
30 Wed, Apr 7 Wiley Plus Assignment 10 Due
Section 4.1 - Using the First and Second Derivatives
Live lecture canceled, replaced by pre-recorded video.
(Fall 2020) 4.1 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.1 - Exercises
Thurs, Apr 8 Quiz 9
Discussion Sections
31 Fri, Apr 9 Finished Section 4.1 Lecture Recording

Sugg. HW: Section 4.1
# 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 25, 27, 29, 39, 41, 43, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75
Week 12
32 Mon, Apr 12 Section 4.2 - Optimization Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 4.2 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.2 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 4.2
# 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, 19, 23, 25, 37, 39, 41, 43, 65, 67
Tues, Apr 13 Discussion Sections
33 Wed, Apr 14 Wiley Plus Assignment 11 Due
Derivatives of Logarithms (a part of Section 3.6)
Section 4.3 - Optimization and Modeling (started)
Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 4.3 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.3 - Exercises

Sugg. HW: Section 3.6:
# 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 27, 33, 36, 38
Thurs, Apr 15 Quiz 10
Discussion Sections
34 Fri, Apr 16 Section 4.3 - Optimization and Modeling (finished) Lecture Recording

Sugg. HW: Section 4.3
# 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 11, 14, 15, 21, 23, 29
Week 13
35 Mon, Apr 19 Section 4.6 - Related Rates (started) Lecture Recording
(Fall 2020) 4.6 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.6 - Exercises

No Sugg. HW yet since we didn't finish 4.6.
Tues, Apr 20 Mental Health Day — No discussion or office hours.
36 Wed, Apr 21 Wiley Plus Assignment 12 Due
Finished Section 4.6
Lecture Recording

Sugg. HW: Section 4.6
# 1, 7, 10, 11, 12, 21, 23, 24, 25, 31, 34, 35, 51, 61, 62
Thurs, Apr 22 Quiz 11
Discussion Sections
37 Fri, Apr 23 Lecture (Fall 2020) 4.7 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.7 - Exercises
Week 14
38 Mon, Apr 26 Lecture
Tues, Apr 27 Discussion Sections
39 Wed, Apr 28 Wiley Plus Assignment 13 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Apr 29 Quiz 12
Discussion Sections
40 Fri, Apr 30 Exam 3
Week 15
41 Mon, May 3 Lecture
Tues, May 4 Discussion Sections
Wed, May 5 Mental Health Day — No discussion or office hours.
Thurs, May 6 No Quiz
Wiley Plus Assignment 14 Due (pushed to Thursday because of Wednesday's day off)
Discussion Sections
42 Fri, May 7 Lecture
Finals Week
Thurs, May 13 Final Exam, 1pm - 3pm