Jay Pantone

Assistant Professor
Marquette University

jay.pantone@marquette.edu


Math 1450

Spring 2021, Marquette University

Functions of one variable, limits, and continuity. The derivative and the definite integral with applications. Prereq: MATH 1101 or equiv. Equivalent is three to four years of college preparatory mathematics including topics listed in description of MATH 1101.

  • Lectures:
    M, W, F 9:00am - 9:50am
    Microsoft Teams
    Discussion Sections:
    Tu, Th Various times
  • Office Hours:
    Monday, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
    Microsoft Teams Tuesday, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
    Thursday, 10:00am - 11:00am
    and by appointment
  • Help Desk:
    Weekly Schedule TBD
    Microsoft Teams

Course Information

The official syllabus is available here.

 
Announcements

Textbook

Important Dates
Mon, Jan 25 Classes begin
Tues, Feb 2 Last day to add/drop classes or request CR/NC option
Tues, Feb 9 Mental Health Day, no classes
Wed, Mar 10 Mental Health Day, no classes
Mon, Mar 15 — Fri, Mar 19 Midterm exams
Fri, Apr 2 Good Friday, no classes
Tues, Apr 20 Mental Health Day, no classes
Fri, Apr 23 Last day to withdraw from classes
Wed, May 5 Mental Health Day, no classes
Fri, May 7 Last day of classes
Thurs, May 13
1:00pm - 3:00pm
Math 1450 final exam

Daily Calendar
# Date Topics Ungraded Textbook HW
Week 1
1 Mon, Jan 25 Syllabus
What is Calculus?
Section 1.1 - Functions and Change
Tues, Jan 26 Discussion Sections
2 Wed, Jan 27 Lecture
Thurs, Jan 28 Discussion Sections
3 Fri, Jan 29 Lecture
Week 2
4 Mon, Feb 1 Lecture
Tues, Feb 2 Discussion Sections
5 Wed, Feb 3 Practice Wiley Plus Assignment 0 Due
Wiley Plus Assignment 1 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Feb 4 Quiz 1
Discussion Sections
6 Fri, Feb 5 Lecture
Week 3
7 Mon, Feb 8 Lecture
Tues, Feb 9 Mental Health Day — No discussion or office hours.
8 Wed, Feb 10 Wiley Plus Assignment 2 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Feb 11 Quiz 2
Discussion Sections
9 Fri, Feb 12 Lecture
Week 4
10 Mon, Feb 15 Lecture
Tues, Feb 16 Discussion Sections
11 Wed, Feb 17 Wiley Plus Assignment 3 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Feb 18 Quiz 3
Discussion Sections
12 Fri, Feb 19 Lecture
Week 5
13 Mon, Feb 22 Lecture
Tues, Feb 23 Discussion Sections
14 Wed, Feb 24 Wiley Plus Assignment 4 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Feb 25 Quiz 4
Discussion Sections
15 Fri, Feb 26 Exam 1
Week 6
16 Mon, Mar 1 Lecture
Tues, Mar 2 Discussion Sections
17 Wed, Mar 3 Wiley Plus Assignment 5 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Mar 4 Quiz 5
Discussion Sections
18 Fri, Mar 5 Lecture
Week 7
19 Mon, Mar 8 Lecture
Tues, Mar 9 Discussion Sections
Wed, Mar 10 Mental Health Day — No lecture or office hours.
Thurs, Mar 11 Quiz 6
Wiley Plus Assignment 6 Due (pushed to Thursday because of Wednesday's day off)
Discussion Sections
20 Fri, Mar 12 Lecture
Week 8
21 Mon, Mar 15 Lecture
Tues, Mar 16 Discussion Sections
22 Wed, Mar 17 Wiley Plus Assignment 7 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Mar 18 Quiz 7
Discussion Sections
23 Fri, Mar 19 Lecture
Week 9
24 Mon, Mar 22 Lecture
Tues, Mar 23 Discussion Sections
25 Wed, Mar 24 Wiley Plus Assignment 8 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Mar 25 Quiz 8
Discussion Sections
26 Fri, Mar 26 Lecture
Week 10
27 Mon, Mar 29 Lecture
Tues, Mar 30 Discussion Sections
28 Wed, Mar 31 Exam 2
Wiley Plus Assignment 9 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Apr 1 No Quiz
Discussion Sections
Fri, Apr 2 Good Friday — No lecture or office hours.
Week 11
29 Mon, Apr 5 Lecture
Tues, Apr 6 Discussion Sections
30 Wed, Apr 7 Wiley Plus Assignment 10 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Apr 8 Quiz 9
Discussion Sections
31 Fri, Apr 9 Lecture
Week 12
32 Mon, Apr 12 Lecture
Tues, Apr 13 Discussion Sections
33 Wed, Apr 14 Wiley Plus Assignment 11 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Apr 15 Quiz 10
Discussion Sections
34 Fri, Apr 16 Lecture
Week 13
35 Mon, Apr 19 Lecture
Tues, Apr 20 Mental Health Day — No discussion or office hours.
36 Wed, Apr 21 Wiley Plus Assignment 12 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Apr 22 Quiz 11
Discussion Sections
37 Fri, Apr 23 Lecture
Week 14
38 Mon, Apr 26 Lecture
Tues, Apr 27 Discussion Sections
39 Wed, Apr 28 Wiley Plus Assignment 13 Due
Lecture
Thurs, Apr 29 Quiz 12
Discussion Sections
40 Fri, Apr 30 Exam 3
Week 15
41 Mon, May 3 Lecture
Tues, May 4 Discussion Sections
Wed, May 5 Mental Health Day — No discussion or office hours.
Thurs, May 6 No Quiz
Wiley Plus Assignment 14 Due (pushed to Thursday because od Wednesday's day off)
Discussion Sections
42 Fri, May 7 Lecture
Finals Week
Thurs, May 13 Final Exam, 1pm - 3pm