Jay Pantone

Assistant Professor
Marquette University

jay.pantone@marquette.edu


MSCS 6040

Spring 2019, Marquette University

The main theme of this course is foundational linear algebra considered from a numerical viewpoint. We focus on solutions of linear systems of equations, eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and transformations. The course emphasizes and illustrates proof and numerical implementation using problems arising in applications. Multivariable calculus and linear algebra are prerequisites.

  • Lectures:
    M, W 3:30pm - 4:45pm
    Cudahy 131
  • Office Hours:
    Monday, 9:00am - 10:00am
    Cudahy 307 Tuesday, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
    Friday, 2:30pm - 4:00pm
    and by appointment

Course Information

The official syllabus is here.

 
Announcements

Textbook
Exams


LaTeX Resources

I recommend using Overleaf (free) to write your assignments in LaTeX. You can use this document as a basic template by cloning it to your own account.

Tutorials

I'm happy to help troubleshoot your LaTeX in office hours!


Important Dates
Jan 14 Classes begin
Jan 21 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, no classes
Jan 22 Last day to add/drop classes or request CR/NC option
March 4-8 Midterm exams
March 10-17 Spring break, no classes
April 12 Last day to withdraw from classes
April 18-22 Easter break, no classes
May 4 Last day of classes
TBD Math 6040 final exam

Google Calendar
  • Click the logo in the bottom-right to add to your own Google Calendar.

Daily Calendar
  • Topics for future dates are tentative and subject to change.
# Date Topics Homework
& Announcements
1 Mon, Jan 14 Syllabus There will be no office hours on Tuesday, Jan 15 or Friday, Jan 18. Office hours will resume the following week.
2 Wed, Jan 16
Mon, Jan 21 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day — no class
3 Wed, Jan 23
4 Mon, Jan 28
5 Wed, Jan 30
6 Mon, Feb 4
7 Wed, Feb 6
8 Mon, Feb 11
9 Wed, Feb 13
10 Mon, Feb 18
11 Wed, Feb 20
12 Mon, Feb 25
13 Wed, Feb 27
14 Mon, Mar 4
15 Wed, Mar 6
Mon, Mar 11 Spring Break — no class
Wed, Mar 13 Spring Break — no class
16 Mon, Mar 18
17 Wed, Mar 20
18 Mon, Mar 25
19 Wed, Mar 27
20 Mon, Apr 1
21 Wed, Apr 3
22 Mon, Apr 8
23 Wed, Apr 10
24 Mon, Apr 15
25 Wed, Apr 17
Mon, Apr 22 Easter Break — no class
26 Wed, Apr 24
27 Mon, Apr 29
28 Wed, May 1