Jay Pantone

Assistant Professor
Marquette University

jay.pantone@marquette.edu


Math 1450

Fall 2020, Marquette University

Functions of one variable, limits, and continuity. The derivative and the definite integral with applications. Prereq: MATH 1101 or equiv. Equivalent is three to four years of college preparatory mathematics including topics listed in description of MATH 1101.

  • Lectures:
    M, W, F Asynchronous
    Discussion Sections:
    Tu, Th Various times, in person
  • Office Hours:
    Friday, 10:00am - 11:00am
    Microsoft Teams
  • Help Desk:
    Weekly Schedule
    Microsoft Teams

Course Information

The official syllabus is available here.

 
Announcements

Textbook

Important Dates
Wed, Aug 26 Classes begin
Thurs, Sept 3 Last day to add/drop classes or request CR/NC option
Mon, Sept 7 Labor Day, no classes
Fri, Oct 9 — Thurs, Oct 15 Midterm exams
Fri, Oct 16 Midterm break, no classes
Fri, Nov 13 Last day to withdraw from classes
Nov 27 - Dec 1 Thanksgiving break, no classes
Tues, Nov 24 Last day of classes
TBD Math 1450 final exam

Daily Calendar
# Date Topics Ungraded Textbook HW
Week 1
1 Wed, Aug 26 Syllabus
   - Syllabus Video

What is Calculus?
   - Video
       Demos:
       » Tangent Line
       » Integral (just the function)

Section 1.1 - Functions and Change
   - 1.1 - Lecture
       Demos:
       » Example Function #1
       » Example Function #2
       » Example Function #3
       » Two Points Determine a Line
   - 1.1 - Exercises
Section 1.1:
   # 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 18, 35, 36, 42, 45, 55
Thurs, Aug 27 Discussion Sections
2 Fri, Aug 28 (Sorry about the buzzing noise you hear when I write. I'm working on fixing it!)
Section 1.2 - Exponential Growth
   - 1.2 - Lecture
       Demos:
       » Population Growth
       » Exponential Growth
       » Exponential Decay
   - 1.2 - Exercises
Section 1.2:
   # 6, 7, 11, 14, 15, 25, 29, 36, 40, 42, 59
Week 2
3 Mon, Aug 31 Section 1.3 - New Functions from Old
   - 1.3 - Lecture
       Demos:
       » Vertical Shift
       » Horizontal Shift
       » Vertical Stretch
       » Horizontal Stretch
       » All Transformations
   - 1.3 - Exercises
Section 1.3:
   # 1, 2, 10, 11, 13, 21, 24, 27, 28, 33, 37, 55, 58, 60, 76
Tues, Sept 1 Discussion Sections
4 Wed, Sept 2 Section 1.4 - Logarithmic Functions
   - 1.4 - Lecture
       Demos:
       » Inverse Functions
   - 1.4 - Exercises
Section 1.4:
   # 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 14, 17, 22, 27, 31, 35, 41, 45, 62, 72
Thurs, Sept 3 Discussion Sections
Practice Mini-Exam 0 – 1.1, 1.2, 1.3
5 Fri, Sept 4 Section 1.5 - Trigonometric Functions
   - 1.5 - Lecture
       Demos:
       » Points on a Circle
       » Sine
       » Cosine
       » Tangent
       » Arcsin
       » Sin/Cos Transformation
   - 1.5 - Exercises
Section 1.5:
   # 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 26, 27, 30, 32, 34, 89, 90, 96
Week 3
Mon, Sept 7 Labor Day — No lecture.
Tues, Sept 8 Discussion Sections
6 Wed, Sept 9 Practice Wiley Homework 0 due
Wiley Homework 1 due – 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5
Section 1.6 - Powers, Polynomials, and Rational Functions
   - 1.6 - Lecture
       Demos:
       » Powers vs. Exponentials
   - 1.6 - Exercises
Section 1.6:
# 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 12, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24-32, 45, 74, 80
Thurs, Sept 10 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 1 – 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5
7 Fri, Sept 11 Section 1.7 - Introduction to Limits and Continuity
   - 1.7 - Lecture
   - 1.7 - Exercises
Section 1.7:
# 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 23, 26, 28, 32, 35, 40, 46, 74, 76
Week 4
8 Mon, Sept 14 Section 1.8 - Extending the Idea of a Limit
   - 1.8 - Lecture
   - 1.8 - Exercises
Section 1.8:
# 2, 3, 4, 8, 13, 17, 27, 28, 31, 34, 57, 65
Tues, Sept 15 Discussion Sections
9 Wed, Sept 16 Wiley Homework 2 due – 1.6, 1.7, 1.8
Section 1.9 - Further Limit Calculations Using Algebra
   - 1.9 - Lecture
(Error Alert: At 10:42 I said (1-5)/2 = 2, but it should be -2, and so the factor should be (x+2).)
       Demos:
       » Squeeze Theorem
   - 1.9 - Exercises
Section 1.9:
# 3, 7, 9, 11, 12, 15, 16, 20, 28, 30, 32, 33, 35, 39, 41, 45, 50, 51, 53
Thurs, Sept 17 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 2 – 1.6, 1.7, 1.8
10 Fri, Sept 18 Section 2.1 - How Do We Measure Speed?
   - 2.1 - Lecture
   - 2.1 - Exercises
Section 2.1:
# 2, 3, 4, 7, 13, 16, 33
Week 5
11 Mon, Sept 21 Section 2.2
Tues, Sept 22 Discussion Sections
12 Wed, Sept 23 Section 2.3
Wiley Homework 3 due – 1.9, 2.1, 2.2
Thurs, Sept 24 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 3 – 1.9, 2.1, 2.2
13 Fri, Sept 25 Section 2.4
Week 6
14 Mon, Sept 28 Section 2.5
Tues, Sept 29 Discussion Sections
15 Wed, Sept 30 Section 2.6
Wiley Homework 4 due – 2.3, 2.4, 2.5
Thurs, Oct 1 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 4 – 2.3, 2.4, 2.5
16 Fri, Oct 2 Section 3.1
Week 7
17 Mon, Oct 5 Section 3.2
Tues, Oct 6 Discussion Sections
18 Wed, Oct 7 Section 3.3
Wiley Homework 5 due – 2.6, 3.1, 3.2
Thurs, Oct 8 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 5 – 2.6, 3.1, 3.2
19 Fri, Oct 9 Section 3.4
Week 7
20 Mon, Oct 12 Section 3.5
Tues, Oct 13 Discussion Sections
21 Wed, Oct 14 Section 3.6
Wiley Homework 6 due – 3.3, 3.4, 3.5
Thurs, Oct 15 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 6 – 3.3, 3.4, 3.5
Fri, Oct 16 Midterm Break — No lecture.
Week 8
22 Mon, Oct 19 Section 3.7
Tues, Oct 20 Discussion Sections
23 Wed, Oct 21 Section 3.8
Wiley Homework 7 due – 3.6, 3.7
Thurs, Oct 22 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 7 – 3.6, 3.7
24 Fri, Oct 23 Section 3.9
Week 9
25 Mon, Oct 26 Section 3.10
Tues, Oct 27 Discussion Sections
26 Wed, Oct 28 Section 4.1
Wiley Homework 8 due – 3.8, 3.9, 3.10
Thurs, Oct 29 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 8 – 3.8, 3.9, 3.10
27 Fri, Oct 30 Section 4.2
Week 10
28 Mon, Nov 2 Section 4.3
Tues, Nov 3 Discussion Sections
29 Wed, Nov 4 Section 4.6
Wiley Homework 9 due – 4.1, 4.2, 4.3
Thurs, Nov 5 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 9 – 4.1, 4.2, 4.3
30 Fri, Nov 6 Section 4.7
Week 11
31 Mon, Nov 9 Section 4.8
Tues, Nov 10 Discussion Sections
32 Wed, Nov 11 Section 5.1
Wiley Homework 10 due – 4.6, 4.7, 4.8
Thurs, Nov 12 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 10 – 4.6, 4.7, 4.8
33 Fri, Nov 13 Section 5.2
Week 12
34 Mon, Nov 16 Section 5.3
Tues, Nov 17 Discussion Sections
35 Wed, Nov 18 Section 5.4
Wiley Homework 11 due – 5.1, 5.2, 5.3
Thurs, Nov 19 Discussion Sections
Mini-Exam 11 – 5.1, 5.2, 5.3
36 Fri, Nov 20 TBD
Week 13
37 Mon, Nov 23 TBD
Tues, Nov 24 Discussion Sections