Jay Pantone

Assistant Professor
Marquette University

jay.pantone@marquette.edu


Math 1450

Fall 2022, Marquette University

Functions of one variable, limits, and continuity. The derivative and the definite integral with applications. Prereq: MATH 1101 or equiv. Equivalent is three to four years of college preparatory mathematics including topics listed in description of MATH 1101.

  • Lectures:
    M, W, F 11:00am - 11:50am
    Cudahy 001
    Discussion Sections:
    Tu, Th Various times
  • Office Hours:
    Tuesday, 12:30pm - 1:30pm
    Friday, 8:00am - 9:00am
    and by appointment
  • Help Desk:
    Weekly Schedule

Course Information

The official syllabus is available here.
Desmos grade calculator.

 
Exams

Textbook

Important Dates
Mon, Aug 29 Classes begin
Mon, Sept 5 Labor Day, no classes
Tues, Sept 6 Last day to add/drop classes or request CR/NC option
Thurs, Oct 13 — Wed, Oct 19 Midterm exams
Thurs, Oct 20 — Fri, Oct 21 Midterm Break, no classes
Fri, Nov 18 Last day to withdraw from classes
Fri, Dec 9 Last day of classes
Mon, Dec 12
1:00pm - 3:00pm
Math 1450 final exam

Daily Calendar
# Date Topics Video Links and
Ungraded Textbook HW
Week 1
1 Mon, Aug 29 Syllabus Lecture Notes
Tues, Aug 30 Discussion Sections
Calculus Pretest (does not count for grade)
2 Wed, Aug 31 Section 1.1 - Functions and Change (started)
     Demos:
       » Example Function #1
       » Example Function #2
       » Example Function #3
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) Section 1.1 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.1 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.1: # 2, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42
Thurs, Sept 1 Discussion Sections
3 Fri, Sept 2 Section 1.1 - Functions and Change (finished)
Section 1.2 - Exponential Functions (started)
     Demos:
       » Two Points Determine a Line
       » Population Growth
       » Exponential Growth
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) Section 1.2 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.2 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.1: # 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 18, 45, 55
Section 1.2: # 13, 15, 25, 27, 29, 44, 65
Week 2
Mon, Sept 5 Labor Day - no class
Tues, Sept 6 Discussion Sections
4 Wed, Sept 7 Wiley Plus Practice HW #0 Due
Section 1.2 - Exponential Functions (finished)
Section 1.3 - New Functions From Old (started)
     Demos:
       » Exponential Growth
       » Exponential Decay
       » Vertical Shift
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) Section 1.3 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.3 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.2: # 6, 7, 10, 11, 37, 41
Section 1.3: # 1c, 2c, 3c, 4
Thurs, Sept 8 Discussion Sections
Quiz 1 — covers Section 1.1 only
5 Fri, Sept 9 Wiley Plus HW #1 Due — Section 1.1
Section 1.3 - New Functions From Old (continued)
     Demos:
       » Vertical Shift
       » Horizontal Shift
       » Vertical Stretch
       » Horizontal Stretch
       » All Transformations
Lecture Notes

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.3: # 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17, 41, 42
Week 3
6 Mon, Sept 12 Section 1.3 - New Functions From Old (finished)
Section 1.4 - Logarithmic Functions (started)
       Demos:
       » Logs are the inverses of exponentials
Lecture Notes

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.3: # 31, 32, 33, 37, 62 ,63, 64, 80, 81
Section 1.4: # 7, 8, 25, 27, 31
Tues, Sept 13 Discussion Sections
7 Wed, Sept 14 Wiley Plus HW #2 Due — Sections 1.2 and 1.3
Section 1.4 - Logarithmic Functions (finished)
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) Section 1.4 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.4 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.4: # 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 14, 15, 17, 22, 36, 37, 41, 45, 46, 49, 64, 66, 79
Thurs, Sept 15 Discussion Sections
Quiz 2 — Sections 1.2, 1.3, and 1.4
8 Fri, Sept 16 Section 1.5 - Trigonometric Functions (started)
       Demos:
       » Points on a Circle
       » Sine
       » Cosine
       » Sin/Cos Transformation
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) Section 1.5 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) Section 1.5 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.5: # 1-8 (just sine and cosine), 10, 11, 15, 16, 25, 27, 43, 45, 63, 89
Week 4
9 Mon, Sept 19 Section 1.5 - Trigonometric Functions (finished)
Section 1.6 - Powers, Polynomials, and Rational Functions (started)
       Demos:
       » Tangent
       » Powers vs. Exponentials
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 1.6 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 1.6 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.5: # 1-8 (just tangent), 29
Section 1.6: # 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 17, 78, 79
Tues, Sept 20 Discussion Sections
10 Wed, Sept 21 Wiley Plus HW #3 Due — Sections 1.4, 1.5, and a little of 1.6
Section 1.6 - Powers, Polynomials, and Rational Functions (finished)
Lecture Notes

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.6: # 7, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 33, 34, 35, 45, 47
Thurs, Sept 22 Discussion Sections
Quiz 3 — Sections 1.5, 1.6
11 Fri, Sept 23 Section 1.7 - Introduction to Limits and Continuity (started)
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 1.7 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 1.7 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.7: # 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, 31, 33, 43, 45, 57, 59, 89
Week 5
12 Mon, Sept 26 Section 1.7 - Introduction to Limits and Continuity (finished)
Section 1.8 - Extending the Idea of a Limit (started)
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 1.8 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 1.8 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.7: # 23, 24, 25, 27, 28
Section 1.8: # 1, 2, 3, 17, 19, 21, 23, 27, 28, 37, 44, 45, 47, 65
Tues, Sept 27 Discussion Sections
13 Wed, Sept 28 Exam 1 — covers all material up to and including Monday, Sept. 26
Wiley Plus HW #4 Due — covers 1.6, 1.7, some of 1.8
Thurs, Sept 29 Discussion Sections
Quiz 4 — covers 1.6 and 1.7
14 Fri, Sept 30 Section 1.8 - Extending the Idea of a Limit (finished)
Section 1.9 - Further Limit Calculations Using Algebra (started)
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 1.9 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 1.9 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.8: # 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 67, 75
Section 1.9: # 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15
Week 6
15 Mon, Oct 3 Section 1.9 - Further Limit Calculations Using Algebra (finished)
Section 2.1 - How Do We Measure Speed (just barely started)
       Demos:
       » Squeeze Theorem
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 2.1 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.1 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 1.9: # 27, 29, 31, 33, 58, 60, 63
Tues, Oct 4 Discussion Sections
16 Wed, Oct 5 Wiley Plus HW #5 Due — covers 1.8, 1.9
Section 2.1 - How Do We Measure Speed (finished)
Lecture Notes

Sugg. HW:
Section 2.1: # 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 23, 31
Thurs, Oct 6 Discussion Sections
Quiz 5 — covers 1.8, 1.9 and 2.1
17 Fri, Oct 7 Section 2.2 - The Derivative at a Point (started and almost finished)
       Demos:
       » Secant Line
       » Tangent Line
       » Sine Example
       » Exponential Example (part 1)
       » Exponential Example (part 2)
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 2.2 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.2 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 2.2: # 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 21, 22, 23, 32, 39, 57, 59, 61
Week 7
18 Mon, Oct 10 Section 2.2 - The Derivative at a Point (finished)
Section 2.3 - The Derivative Function (started)
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 2.3 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.3 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 2.3: # 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 33, 37, 39, 41, 44
Tues, Oct 11 Discussion Sections
19 Wed, Oct 12 Wiley Plus HW #6 Due — covers 2.1, 2.2
Section 2.3 - The Derivative Function (finished)
Section 2.4 - Interpretations of the Derivative (started)
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 2.4 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.4 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 2.3: # 2, 23, 24, 47, 48-51, 53, 61, 63
Section 2.4: # 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 13
Thurs, Oct 13 Discussion Sections
Quiz 6 — covers 2.1, 2.2
20 Fri, Oct 14 Section 2.4 - Interpretations of the Derivative (finished)
Section 2.5 - The Second Derivative (started)
       Demos:
       » Second Derivative example
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 2.5 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.5 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 2.4: # 14, 15, 23, 24, 33, 34, 35, 37
Section 2.5: # 1-13, 18
Week 8
21 Mon, Oct 17 Section 2.5 - The Second Derivative (finished)
Section 2.6 - Differentiability (started)
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 2.6 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 2.6 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 2.5: 14, 19, 21, 23, 25, 39, 41
Section 2.6: 1-6
Tues, Oct 18 Discussion Sections
22 Wed, Oct 19 Wiley Plus HW #7 Due — covers 2.3, 2.4, 2.5
Section 2.6 - Differentiability (finished)
Section 3.1 - Powers and Polynomials (started, almost finished)
       Demos:
       » Constant Multiple
       » Sum and Difference
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 3.1 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.1 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 2.6: 7, 9, 11, 13
Section 3.1: 3-9, 11-17, 19-23, 31, 33, 37
Thurs, Oct 20 Midterm Break - no class
Fri, Oct 21 Midterm Break - no class
Week 9
23 Mon, Oct 24 Section 3.1 - Powers and Polynomials (finished)
Section 3.2 - The Exponenial Function (started and finished)
       Demos:
       » Exponential Derivative
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 3.2 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.2 - Exercises

s Sugg. HW:
Section 3.1: 43, 54, 55, 61, 63, 66, 67, 68, 69, 75, 79
Section 3.2: 1-13, 26, 27, 29-35, 40, 43, 49, 52, 53, 56
Tues, Oct 25 Discussion Sections
24 Wed, Oct 26 Exam 2
Wiley Plus HW #8 Due — covers 2.6, 3.1
Thurs, Oct 27 Discussion Sections
Quiz 7 — covers 2.6, 3.1
25 Fri, Oct 28 Section 3.3 - The Product and Quotient Rules (finished) Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 3.3 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.3 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 3.3: 1, 3-17, 21, 23, 31, 32, 32, 34-37, 43, 45, 47, 49, 57, 67
Week 10
26 Mon, Oct 31 Section 3.4 - The Chain Rule (finished) Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 3.4 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.4 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 3.4: 1-9, 19, 20, 22, 24-30, 35, 37, 45-47, 49, 50, 59, 61, 63, 73, 77ab, 96, 97
Tues, Nov 1 Discussion Sections
27 Wed, Nov 2 Wiley Plus HW #9 Due — covers 3.2, 3.3, some 3.4
Section 3.5 - The Trigonometric Functions (finished)
       Demos:
       » Derivative of sin
       » Derivative of tan
Lecture Notes
(Fall 2020) 3.5 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.5 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 3.5: 2-28, 43, 51, 55, 56, 58, 59, 61, 73
Thurs, Nov 3 Discussion Sections
Quiz 8 — covers 3.2, 3.3, 3.4
28 Fri, Nov 4 Section 3.6 - The Chain Rule and Inverse Functions (started and finished mini version)
Section 3.9 - Linear Approximations and the Derivative (started)
       Demos:
       » zoom in #1
       » zoom in #2
       » sin linear approximation
Lecture Notes

(Fall 2020) 3.6 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.6 - Exercises
Note: In Fall 2020 I covered more material in 3.6 than we did this semester.

(Fall 2020) 3.9 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.9 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 3.6: 1-4, 7, 9-21, 33, 35, 73, 49, 50, 57, 65
Section 3.9: 1-4
Week 11
29 Mon, Nov 7 Section 3.9 - Linear Approximations and the Derivative (finished)
Section 1.7 - (just the part about the increasing function theorem)
Section 3.10 - Theorems about Differentiable Functions (started)
       Demos:
       » sin linear approximation
       » exponential growth linear approximation
Lecture Notes

(Fall 2020) 3.10 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 3.10 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 3.9: 5-9, 13, 15, 20, 21, 22
Section 1.7: 78, 82, 83, 86, 90, 91
Section 3.10: 1, 2, 3, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 17, 27
Tues, Nov 8 Discussion Sections
30 Wed, Nov 9 Wiley Plus HW #10 Due — covers 3.4, 3.5, 3.6, 3.9
Section 3.10 - Theorems about Differentiable Functions (finished)
Section 4.1 - Using First and Second Derivatives (started)
Lecture Notes

(Fall 2020) 4.1 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.1 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 3.10: 4, 5, 21, 25, 45-47
Section 4.1: 22a, 23a, 24a, 25a, 43, 44
Thurs, Nov 10 Discussion Sections
Quiz 9 — covers 3.4, 3.5, 3.6, 3.9
31 Fri, Nov 11 Section 4.1 - Using First and Second Derivatives (continued) Lecture Notes

Sugg. HW:
Section 4.1: 1-3, 4-8 (ignore inflection points), 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 22-25, 33, 35, 43
Week 12
32 Mon, Nov 14 Section 4.1 - Using First and Second Derivatives (finished)
Section 4.2 - Optimization (started)
Lecture Notes

(Fall 2020) 4.2 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.2 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 4.1: 4-8 (inflection points), 39, 40, 41, 42, 51, 75, 76, 77
Section 4.2: 1, 2, 30-33
Tues, Nov 15 Discussion Sections
33 Wed, Nov 16 Wiley Plus HW #11 Due — covers 3.10, 4.1, 4.2
Section 4.2 - Optimization (finished)
Section 4.3 - Optimization and Modeling (started)
Lecture Notes

(Fall 2020) 4.3 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.3 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 4.2: 3-8, 10-17, 21, 41, 43, 47
Thurs, Nov 17 Discussion Sections
Quiz 10 — covers 3.10, 4.1, 4.2
34 Fri, Nov 18 Section 4.3 - Optimization and Modeling (finished) Lecture Notes

Sugg. HW:
Section 4.3: 1-5, 7-10, 11, 14, 15, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 26a, 31, 35, 37, 47
Week 13
35 Mon, Nov 21 Section 4.6 - Related Rates (started) Lecture Notes

(Fall 2020) 4.6 - Lecture
(Fall 2020) 4.6 - Exercises

Sugg. HW:
Section 4.6: 3, 5, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 19, 27, 29, 30, 32, 36, 49, 51, 59
Tues, Nov 22 Wiley Plus HW #12 Due on TUESDAY — covers 4.3
Discussion Sections
Wed, Nov 23 Thanksgiving Break - no class
Thurs, Nov 24 Thanksgiving Break - no class
Fri, Nov 25 Thanksgiving Break - no class
Week 14
36 Mon, Nov 28 Section 4.6 - Related Rates (finished) Section 5.1 - How do we measure distance traveled? (started) Lecture Notes

Sugg. HW: no new homework
Tues, Nov 29 Discussion Sections
37 Wed, Nov 30 Exam 3
Wiley Plus HW #13 Due
Thurs, Dec 1 Discussion Sections
Quiz 11
38 Fri, Dec 2 (planned) Section 4.7 - L'Hopital's Rule (finish)
(planned) Section 5.1 - How do we measure distance traveled?
Week 15
39 Mon, Dec 5 (planned) Section 5.2 - The Definite Integral
Tues, Dec 6 Discussion Sections
40 Wed, Dec 7 Wiley Plus HW #14 Due
(planned) Section 5.3 - The Fundamental Theorem and Iterpretations
Thurs, Dec 8 Discussion Sections
Quiz 12
41 Fri, Dec 9 (planned) Section 5.4 - Theorems about Definite Integrals
Finals Week
Mon, Dec 12 Final Exam, 1pm - 3pm