Jay Pantone

Assistant Professor
Marquette University

jay.pantone@marquette.edu


Math 2100 / 2105 / 2350

Fall 2018, Marquette University

This course is an introduction to abstract mathematics through the lens of discrete mathematics, a field centered on the study of mathematical objects such as sets, functions, and graphs. We will learn many techniques that allow one to rigorously prove mathematical facts, and we will apply those techniques to the study of discrete mathematics. Emphasis is placed on logical, abstract thinking and clear and precise mathematical writing.

  • Lectures:
    Tu, Th 11:00am - 12:15pm
    Cudahy 120
  • Office Hours:
    Monday, 10:00am - 11:00am
    Cudahy 307 Wednesday, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
    and by appointment

Course Information

The official syllabus is here.

 
The Revision Cover Sheet must be submitted with every revision.

 
Homework Assignments

Announcements

Exams

Textbook

LaTeX Resources

I recommend using Overleaf (free) to write your assignments in LaTeX. You can use this document as a basic template by cloning it to your own account.

Tutorials

I'm happy to help troubleshoot your LaTeX in office hours!


Important Dates
August 27 Classes begin
September 3 Labor Day, no classes
September 4 Last day to add/drop classes or request CR/NC option
October 18-19 Midterm break, no classes
November 16 Last day to withdraw from classes
November 21-23 Thanksgiving, no classes
December 7 Last day of classes
December 14 Math 2100/2105/2350 final exam

Google Calendar

Daily Calendar
# Date Topics Suggested HW
& Announcements
1 Tues, Aug 28 3.1: Set Definitions and Operations
2 Thurs, Aug 30 More 3.1
Quiz 0 (ungraded)
Homework 1 assigned
Suggested Homework:
3.1.{1,2,4,5,7,14,16}
3 Tues, Sept 4 Finish 3.1
3.2: More Operations on Sets
Suggested Homework:
3.2.{1,2,3,4,10,11,12,14}
4 Thurs, Sept 6 5.1: Introduction to Combinatorics
5.2: Basic Rules for Counting
Quiz 1
Homework 1 due
Homework 2 assigned
Suggested Homework:
5.2.{1,2,4,6,7,8,10,14}
5 Tues, Sept 11 5.3: Combinations and the Binomial Theorem
Suggested Homework:
5.3.{5,6,8,10,11,13,15,16,22,25,26}
6 Thurs, Sept 13 Finish 5.3
Quiz 2
Homework 2 due
Homework 3 assigned
Suggested Homework:
5.3.{31,32}
7 Tues, Sept 18 1.3: Truth-tellers, Liars, and Propositional Logic Suggested Homework:
1.3.{1,3,4,7,8,9,11,16,17}
8 Thurs, Sept 20 Finish 1.3
Quiz 3
Homework 3 due
Homework 4 assigned
Suggested Homework:
1.3.{10,14,16,17,18,20,21,23}
9 Tues, Sept 25 1.4: Predicates Suggested Homework:
1.4.{4,7,9,10,11,13,16,17}
10 Thurs, Sept 27 Exam 1
Homework 4 due
Homework 5 assigned
11 Tues, Oct 2 1.5: Implications
Suggested Homework:
1.5.{4,5,8,10,12,13,14,15,17,22}
12 Thurs, Oct 4 Finish 1.5
2.1: Mathematical Writing
Quiz 4
Homework 5 due
Homework 6 assigned
Suggested Homework:
1.5.{16,25,26,27}
13 Tues, Oct 9 Finish 2.1 Suggested Homework:
2.1.{2,3,4,9,10,13}
14 Thurs, Oct 11 2.2: Proofs about Numbers
Quiz 5
Homework 6 due
Homework 7 assigned
Suggested Homework:
2.2.{3,7,14,15,16,17,18,27}
15 Tues, Oct 16 Finish 2.2 Suggested Homework:
2.2.{3,7,14,15,16,17,18,27}
Thurs, Oct 18 Midterm Break, no class
16 Tues, Oct 23 2.3: Mathematical Induction
Suggested Homework:
2.3.{8,9}
17 Thurs, Oct 25 Finish 2.3
Quiz 6
Homework 7 due
Homework 8 assigned
Suggested Homework:
2.3.{8,9}, plus the in-class group work
18 Tues, Oct 30 2.5: Contradiction and the Pigeonhole Principle Suggested Homework:
2.5.{3,4,5,11,17,22}
19 Thurs, Nov 1 Finish 2.5
Quiz 7
Homework 8 due
Homework 9+10 assigned
Suggested Homework:
2.5.{32,33,34,35,36,39}
20 Tues, Nov 6 3.3: Proving Set Properties
21 Thurs, Nov 8 Finish 3.3 Suggested Homework:
3.3.{2, 3, 5, 6, 11, 13, 20, 21, 22, 23}
22 Tues, Nov 13 Exam Review
Quiz 8
23 Thurs, Nov 15 Exam 2
Homework 9+10 due
Homework 11 assigned
24 Tues, Nov 20 4.1: Definitions, Diagrams, and Inverses Suggested Homework:
4.1.{1,12,15,16,17,20}
4.3.{1,2,3,4}
Thurs, Nov 22 Thanksgiving Break, no class
25 Tues, Nov 27 4.2: The Composition Operation
26 Thurs, Nov 29 4.3: Properties of Functions and Set Cardinality
Quiz 9
Homework 11 due
Homework 12 assigned
27 Tues, Dec 4 4.4: Properties of Relations
28 Thurs, Dec 6 4.5: Equivalence Relations
Quiz 10
Homework 12 due
Fri, Dec 14 Final Exam, 3:30pm - 5:30pm